“Anamnesis” (2007 Survey)
(338/9) 256–266 Turk Street; Granada Garage; two stories; reinforced concrete withstucco facade; giant order with semicircular parapet; temple frontcomposition; Renaissance/Baroque ornamentation. Alterations: none. Owner: James J. Walker Co. (1920). Contractor: Monson Brothers. 1920.
(338/6, 24) 230–250 Turk Street; building under construction (2007).
(338/5) 218-220 Turk Street; apartment building with eight rooms and four baths. 3B stories; reinforced concrete with stucco facade; galvanized iron lintels and cornice; two-part commercial composition; Renaissance/Baroque ornamentation; vestibule with mosaic flooring; lobby: stair landing. Alterations: storefronts replaced by aluminum and glass, aluminum sash. Owner: Chas W. Dixon (1921). Contractor: Monson Brothers. 1921.
(338/4) 201-217 Jones Street; 205 Jones Apartments; stores and apartment building with fifty two-room units; 6B stories; steel frame structure with brick curtain walls; galvanized iron belt courses, cornice; three-part vertical composition; Renaissance/Baroque ornamentation; vestibule: cornice molding; marquee and sconces at entry. Alterations: security gate, storefronts. Owner: Walt A. Plummer, W. A. Plummer Mfg. Company (bags, tents, etc.). Architect: Edward E. Young. 1924.
Antonia Manor (formerly Hotel Governor). 180 Turk Street. Architect: Creston H. Jensen. 1925.
Here photographed in mid-construction and completed in early summer 2008, the Salvation Army’s Ray and Joan Kroc Community Center was built with funds that were part of a 1.5 billion dollar bequest made in 2003 by hamburger heiress Joan Kroc. It replaces the Army’s old community center, which many years ago had been the Hotel Von Dorn, one of the buildings erected during the first wave of the Tenderloin’s reconstruction. In its heyday, the Von Dorn was clearly a very charming and cozy hotel.
Tri-fold postcard, circa 1908. Faintly visible behind the Hotel Von Dorn’s steel frame is the Hotel Cadillac on Eddy Street.
Postcard, circa 1915.