“Jones Hotel” (2007)
(318/6) 511-515 Jones Street; Hotel Bruce, Newport Hotel, Jones Hotel (1982). Rooming house with twenty-one rooms and nine baths. 3B stories; reinforced concrete structure; galvanized iron giant paired Ionic order; two-part commercial composition; Renaissance/Baroque ornamentation; lobby: stair landing only; alterations: security gates. Original owner: Samuel A. Haas, Block-Haas Cigar Company. Architect: Joseph Cahen. 1913.
Picturesque casement windows and diminutive proportions, emphasized by giant paired Ionic pilasters that frame an elegantly detailed facade, make the Jones Hotel the very picture of a doll house. Adding to the building’s charm are green and black tile from the 1930s and a storefront with still-intact transoms and display windows.